Christie Burke's Infinite Booklist

a couple of tidbits June 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Christie @ 7:22 pm

Item One: My requested copy of The Hunger Games finally came into the library.  I’m told it’s excellent, and I’m excited to read it.  (It’s also quite likely that I’ll need to lead a book club session at work about its sequel in the fall.)  Will keep you posted.

Item Two: I found Geek the Library today via a Library Journal tweet.  It’s a site that attempts to dispel some myths about what public libraries are for, how they operate, and how they’re funded.  Statistics show that in times of economic downturn, library use increases as the populace has greater need of free and low-cost resources (not to mention help finding a job, which is the subject of a prominent endcap display in my branch library at the moment).  Legislation and budgeting actions that cut library funding are, to be blunt, shortsighted and unwise.  Even for those who are not in crisis themselves, the library connects individuals with information in a way that the internet alone cannot.

Me?  I geek knitting.  I frequently borrow knitting references from the library before purchasing (or instead of, if I don’t think it’s something I need to own).

 

One Response to “a couple of tidbits”

  1. Dianne Says:

    I bought a copy of The Hunger Games at the Scholastic Warehouse sale (got it cheap). I definitely LOVED it. Can’t wait for the next one in the series!

    Have you finished reading Hunger Games yet? What did you think of it?


Leave a Reply

